You are Here: Home / Newcastle, Quayside, Broad Garth
Newcastle, Quayside, Broad Garth
There were no minor streets or chares running off the Quayside before 1376, although the word "Key" is used four times from 1332 to 1366. From Sandhill to Sandgate there were 20 chares which survived until the mid C19. Most were so narrow that two people could not walk abreast. Their date of origin is unknown, earliest reference is C14. Confusingly named 'Trinity Chare' on Ordnance Survey second edition. Not to be confused with HER 10489. Sales document of 1657 (TWAS 544/76, f30r).
Sales Document, Tyne and Wear Archives 544/76, f30r; Surtees Society 112, p 15; H. Bourne, 1736, The History of Newcastle upon Tyne; B. Harbottle and P. Clack, 1976, Newcastle upon Tyne - Archaeology and Development in D.W. Harding (ed), 1976, Archaeology in the North; W. Collard and M. Ross, 1842, Architectural and Picturesque Views in Newcastle upon Tyne; J. and J. Leslie, 2002, Bygone Quayside and the Chares; Barbara Harbottle, 2009, The Medieval Archaeology of Newcastle in Diana Newton and AJ Pollard (eds), 2009, Newcastle and Gateshead before 1700, pages 31-32